On August 27, 2016, a misstep while traveling with my son resulted in two broken arms, pretty much a nightmare injury for a massage therapist.

While unable to work, I began putting together online continuing education courses, but mostly I simply rested. Initially the challenge I dealt with was simply pain management I was unable to do anything that required rotating the wrist and forearm, unable to drive, unable to pour milk from the gallon jug, unable even to turn the doorknob of my front door.

At this point, 5 weeks after the injury I am just beginning to gradually add a very few of my regular standing clients back into my schedule; right now I can handle no more than one session per day, but I hope to have restored enough strength to do a maximum of four sessions a day by November. This process of bring my practice back online will begin with my clients who receive my gentlest work (Gentle Pain Calming). I don’t anticipate offering any sessions of Panoramic Deep Tissue before November, but will have limited sessions of Fijian Massage available on a first come first served basis.

I encourage people to try other local therapists while I am unable to see people as frequently as I have in the past. The Champaign-Urbana area is blessed with many talented massage therapists, and in massage therapy, no two therapists are alike. A few I have worked or traded with extensively:

Terri Mason at Studio Helix (356-7475) has already been seeing some of the clients I share with Studio Helix’s personal training while I’ve been gone, and as she is also a very skilled personal trainer, she is someone whose judgement I really trust when it comes to biomechanics and kinesiology.

Helen Whatley (http://cooperative-healing.com/) has studied a number of styles of massage. I especially enjoy receiving a combination of Zero Balancing and CranioSacral, both of which I perceive as light pressure with more of an energetic intent.

Nicole Eret (http://www.everydaywellness.abmp.com/) is a Shiatsu therapist. Shiatsu is a type of massage received on the floor, and is a Japanese form of manipulative therapy. It feels fairly deep and very specific.

